PDA

View Full Version : Twilight War Reborn!


Mutt
02-16-2006, 07:47 PM
http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=8203

"Smiling Gator Productions, the developer of MMORPG Twilight War: After the Fall, has announced that it has received new funding to complete the project, which had previously been canceled (http://www.gamasutra.com/php-bin/news_index.php?story=7677) back in December 2005, due to initial funding for the game running out."

Mutt
02-16-2006, 07:57 PM
Related article: http://rpgvault.ign.com/articles/688/688679p1.html

Cinnabar
02-16-2006, 10:54 PM
No. It's over. Let it go.

Mutt
04-04-2008, 12:39 PM
Got this email today:

The following is an email sent to you by an administrator of "Twilight War". If this message is spam, contains abusive or other comments you find offensive please contact the webmaster of the board at the following address:

webmaster@twilightwar.com

Include this full email (particularly the headers).

Message sent to you follows:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We are releasing a Preliminary version of Twilight War: After the Fall, which is a very early pre-order of the Official release. It is a single-player game with a pre-Beta multiplayer client.

Go to www.twilightwar.com for more details.

Timestretch
04-04-2008, 01:40 PM
Mutt, buy the pre-release and tell us how it is.

Mutt
04-04-2008, 01:55 PM
Thinking about it. Reading their forums and its about a 15gb download :banghead:
34.95 to have access to essentially an unfinished FPS is steep, but if the game does get finished then it will be owned already.

Just got a raise yesterday though so what the hell.

Timestretch
04-04-2008, 02:09 PM
Thinking about it. Reading their forums and its about a 15gb download :banghead:
34.95 to have access to essentially an unfinished FPS is steep, but if the game does get finished then it will be owned already.

Just got a raise yesterday though so what the hell.

Nice, grats on the raise!

Mutt
04-04-2008, 02:27 PM
Mostly I think that they are hoping to bring in a little bit of revenue to continue development on the game. Essentially selling beta spots.

I figure if its a PoS I can always invoke the consumer protection on my CC or paypal to get my money back. Have 30 days after purchase to do that.

Mutt
04-04-2008, 03:23 PM
It seems like this might also be about not falling into vapourware status amongst those following the game and putting something out there so people can see that "See we do have an engine and world you can play in"

To note: The email I received stated I was eligible for 2 free months once the game is released (rather than the standard one) which points to me being in the first 100 purchasers of the game. My feeling is that there are alot waiting for those that do take the plunge to let them know if its worth it or not as of yet.

So there should be some ingame video coming out soon I would think.

Mutt
04-05-2008, 12:06 AM
lol this is one weird ass release. Check this info on the guys that own the right to the game now:Well guys, this is going to have to be a "decide for yourself" moment.

I just finished speaking with the person behind "General Computers" a single individual named Junhua Chang. Let's just say when I called the phone was answered with "hello?".

After watching the site go down so fast and stripped to nothing but a basic php file made with Notepad I decided to snoop around.

General Computers Inc has a listed ownership as "General Group" in New York - not China. There is no General Group in New York. The address attached to ownership of the domain is a residence (yes a home, not a a business) in New Hyde Park, NY.

When asking what has happened with the site from the Intel complaint I was given the hesitant response that all offending files have been deleted from the server so it "shouldn't be a problem anymore". Doesn't sound like a corporate reply at all.

Next I asked about the concerns with the downloads not working. To this it was replied that they removed a large chunk of code last night in the middle of peoples updates, a section of code that was from India. Junhua says he tested the new compilation and that it works on his machine. He even said he runs Vista on his machine.

This guy seriously sound like he didn't know how to respond, I guess he was shocked to be getting a call.

Right now, if anyone wants to actually have a shot of seeing if the download is legit will have to delete the folder the launcher is downloading the files into and start the whole thing over. Junhua said the download is now just under 12gig's in size. He swears it works, but avoided the question if anyone else other than him is working on his game.

Also, if anyone is interested why GC is accepting PayPal it is because General Computers is a random eBay buyer/seller. I found 3 email addresses @ general-inc.com that have eBay accounts attached to them.

Another thing, the contact number for General Group is a cell phone (probably explains the startled hello I received when he answered).

Ok guys. Now it's your turn to see for yourselves that I'm not bullshitting you (well someone is, but it's not me).

First you'll want to do a Domain Whois on General-Inc.com. This might not give you much since its' registrar is Network Solutions, so check out their Whois for the full details, here's the link:

http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jsp?domain=general-inc.com

This shows you the ellusive "General Group", Junhua Chang, and the address which we're about to look at some more.

So next you may want to know about that phone number. Well it is a cell phone registered with Omnipoint Communications, which is a small MVNO (Mobile Virtual Network Operator - basically don't own their own towers) in the Northeast. Want to see that for yourself also? Here you go:

http://www.whitepages.com/search/ReversePhone?full_phone=631-882-3396

Oh, the reason you are having such a horrible time downloading and why Junhua is asking people allow 24 hours for download is because it's running off of a small webserver in Austin Texas which is colocated with Advanced Colo on a severely limited bandwidth connection (5mbps total pipe size). The General Computers website is already running off of this box. You can confirm the host of the webserver with the next link, and I tested the servers bandwidth through other methods I won't outline at this time:

http://www.ip2location.com/free.asp
Enter IP: 65.19.131.126
(You can use ActivePorts to see the IP the downloader and General-Inc.com is using)

And finally, the eBay accounts. I'll show the account that doesn't have any feedback or auctions among the 3 I found because I really don't want to ruin this guys auction business.

Go here: http://search.ebay.com/ws/search/AdvSearch?sofindtype=10#RequestUserID
Enter the email address of the PayPal account taking your money: billing@general-inc.com

Anyhow, anyone who wants to try and get some answers can call him themselves now.

I'm still waiting for another reply from Steam after they said they have no agreement with General Computers and when they tried the old link it was already dead - so I sent them the new one.

Ok guys, decide for yourselves and post your thoughts. I'm surprised I didn't do this check really fast back when General Computers first took over the project. Since it's just one guy that explains why development has been non-existent.

Now some of you are going to hate me, but hey it's all truth.

Now the guys that were developing the game Smiling Gator (from Florida I think) likely wouldnt have sold the rights for small change, to General Computer (GC). That alone has me sure that GC views this as an investment and is working on building the game. Its just that all their "developers" are in China (probably gold farmers)

Mutt
04-05-2008, 04:44 PM
Hmm, doesnt look like they are licensed to sell this. It uses source and they dont have any consent from Valve

Mutt
04-05-2008, 04:57 PM
Using PayPal dispute to get my money back in the time being. I have the software as it stands and can use it to check the status of things when they improve.

They have some items like cs_assault included in their download for example that surely cant be legal for them to include in a purchasable product.

Mutt
04-05-2008, 05:03 PM
http://www.twilightwar.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=1398

Some screenshots taken ingame

Virt
04-05-2008, 07:35 PM
Wow... yeah I would get your monies back asap.

I think there are more promising FPS-style mmo's out there in the ether than this.

Mutt
04-05-2008, 08:05 PM
Yea not going to wait for this guy to put together another team of chinese gold farmers to build the game (apparently the first team is no longer developing the game)

Mutt
04-06-2008, 03:17 PM
Refunded, but I still have the game files so I should be able to check on it over time.